ZAR
USD
EUR
GBP
CAD
AUD
CHF
ZAR
USD
EUR
GBP
CAD
AUD
CHF

What are you looking for?

ZAR
USD
EUR
GBP
CAD
AUD
CHF
ZAR
USD
EUR
GBP
CAD
AUD
CHF
Hello traveller!

It's in Cape Town now.

We're sorry. Our safari planners aren't available now. Our office hours are 08:00 - 19:00 (GMT+2).

Call us to speak to an experienced safari planner.


Alternatively, we recommend...

video-call-icon

Schedule a phone or Zoom call with one of our safari planners

SCHEDULE A CALL
travel-form-icon

Complete our travel enquiry form to connect with a safari planner

ENQUIRE TODAY
Email us
(optional)

Our guest reviews are independent ratings placed on these trusted review platform: Safari Bookings and Google Reviews.

All traveller reviews are every bit as independent as we are, which is why we love that every review you read about Discover Africa is a genuine response from an actual client that travelled to Africa with us.

Awesome Vic Falls & Okavango Delta safari trip thanks flawless planning and execution.

- Communication: Always available, friendly, and responsive (10/10) - Service: flexibly adjusting the itinerary to our needs and including all requested components (9/10) - Value for money: 9/10 - Reliability: We were absolutely amazed by the organization and reliability of all parties involved (hotels, transfers, camps, domestic flights) (10/10) We would definitely recommend Discover Africa for planning your Safari Tour in Botswana!
Lea & Jonas, Germany
27 Nov 2022

Great organization, easy to reach, all around great experience.

Matthys from Discover Africa helped us organize our trip to Kruger. He was always very responsive, easy to reach and friendly. The lodge we originally wanted to book wasn’t available anymore, but he immediately suggested a great alternative in the same part of the park which we really enjoyed. Same with finding the perfect flights for us. Everything went so smoothly and was so hassle-free - it couldn’t have been organized any better. I would definitely recommend booking through Discover Africa and especially Matthys!
Jasmin, Switzerland
25 Nov 2022

Susan was the perfect find! She seamlessly organized & updated based on requests.

Susan was always available, from the early trip planning stages to our last minute needs once in country. She clearly knew the area and how the trip would vary based on seasons and local events. Her organization was unparalleled and the reliability made our trip a joy. Each tour and overnight destination was well thought through and more than we could have imagined.  
Kelly M, United States
16 Nov 2022

Tour operator was responsive and flexible.

We traveled with another couple. The lodges and other hotels booked were excellent. The safe is and guides and people who met us at airports were on time and knowledgeable.  
Sheila, United States
16 Nov 2022

Amazing! Everything was just perfect, all our needs were met and everyone was so friendly.

Megan at discover Africa was just simply amazing. We talked about what I wanted to see and do on a Safari then she went away and put together a bespoke package that suited all our needs. We were even difficult with dates due to family commitments but Megan was super helpful and provided alternatives that were more suited for us. The trip she organised was just simply incredible, we spend every day almost in disbelieve on what we were experiencing/ seeing. She even helped me plan a proposal which was executed perfectly thanks to the tour crew and Megan. It was defiantly a holiday of a lifetime, we will be telling all our friends and future family about this trip for the rest of our lives and it is all thanks to Megan at Discover Africa.
Matt Campion, United Kingdom
15 Nov 2022

Superb trip, well arranged!

Discover Africa arranged a trip for my wife and me and two friends to visit national parks in Tanzania and to to go to Nairobi, Kenya for a couple of days to visit Karen Blixen's house (Karen Blixen is best known in the US for her memoir, Out of Africa and of course the movie) and to stay at Giraffe Manor. All the arrangements were carefully made and worked well, and our contact at Discover Africa, Adelle Bell, was very reachable by text, email and WhatsApp. The people she contracted to meet us and take us places were outstanding (I'll mention Freddy, Adamson, and Anderson in particular). The accommodations were very good with helpful, friendly staff. The lodges--the Acacia Farm Lodge outside the Ngorongoro Crater National Park and especially the Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge in Serengeti National Park--were first rate with outstanding staff and excellent food. The safaris were superb and we added a hot-air balloon flight over the Serengeti by Miracle Experience of Tanzania, an experience of a lifetime. Giraffe Manor, also brilliantly staffed and catered, is absolutely wonderful. The only less-than-perfect aspect of things was getting from Serengeti to Nairobi. If we could have gone directly, it would have been about an hour or a bit more, and there were 40-passenger planes that did do that. But our route involved four flights in very small planes and took most of the day. All in all, it was a very fine experience, and I recommend Discover Africa without reservation.
David Policansky , United States
13 Nov 2022

Susan is amazing! she LISTENED to provide us with the experience we wanted and EXCEEDED !!!

Fellow travelers, I had not a worry ! as the itinerary went so went our adventure! From the Drivers to the Hotel staff to the small aircraft pilots! Wonderful! Always there to make our travels smooth and refreshing ! I drink lots of water and really appreciated that they all had bottled water for me! Then we have the Lodges and the staff, who could not have made us feel more welcome and accommodated! The food was delicious and the icing on the cake were our guides of course Jinxy at Saguni lodge and Cosi at Kazidore lodge! I should not forget to say that both lodges were as pictured, and accommodations did not disappoint! Discover Africa really took care of us ! Susan called us several times throughout our trip to check on us, and make sure we were well cared for and satisfied with our stay.
Xenia, United States
11 Nov 2022

Excellent Service!

Each of the locations chosen by our Consultant Susan, exceeded our expectations. The lodges we stayed, were very respectful of the environment and supportive of the local communities. At Saguni lodge the staff were awesome, specially our guide, Jinks, his knowledge really helped us appreciate all the things we experienced during our safari.
Patricia, United States
3 Nov 2022

Many thanks Adelle for your precious help!

We found Discover Africa through a local travel agency comparator. From the very beginning of our safari in South Africa, we were charmed. Adelle, our agency contact, is a wonderful person who understood our needs and our client profile perfectly. She was able to propose us tours and itinerary perfectly adapted to what we wanted. We will definitely return to South Africa for a second safari and will contact Adelle again to plan this trip.
Donald, Canada
1 Nov 2022

Incredible Honeymoon

Me and my wife have just returned back to London after spending a little over 2 weeks in beautiful South Africa! Megan, our honeymoon planner absolutely nailed it with the hotels and guest houses she found for us within our budget and better still was on hand throughout our trip on Whatsapp which was very assuring! After our international flight to Joburg and short connection flight to Hoedspruit we reached out luxurious safari lodge 'Simbavati Waterside' for 4 unforgettable nights. We both said upon leaving it was one of the best things we've ever done, we absolutely loved it! Next stop was to Cape Town, staying in Camps Bay. This was a great location for us with plenty of busy bars and coffee shops plus an array of superb restaurants on the waterfront. We stayed Bed & Breakfast at 'The Marly' which is a boutique hotel Megan found for us, we went for the mountain view and the only regret we had was not booking a sea-view room. We did the open-top coach tour of the city, hired a car to Simons Town, Boulders Beach, Cape of Good Hope via Chapmans Peak. This driving route was insanely beautiful and we'd recommend this to everyone who visits! Next stop Hermanus, we had done our research prior and had found a place roughly 2 hour drive east of Cape Town which is famous for whale watching, we were not left disappointed as we were lucky enough to see 20+ whales over the 2 days. Megan booked our tour with Marine Dynamics albeit we wished it lasted longer than 2 hours on the water! We stayed at the La Fontaine Guest House (mountain view), again we wished we'd gone for the sea-view. In truth the guest house itself was fairly basic but comfortable and we didn't spend much time there whilst our exploring. Final stop was roughly 2 hours north further inland into the mountains to a small place called Franschhoek, we stayed at the Avonrood Guest House which was a lovely place to spend the final 2 days of our trip. The staff were so generous providing us with a bottle of champagne on arrival as newly weds and we particularly enjoyed the honesty bar where you filled in what drinks you'd had in the evenings. This place is famous for its winelands and we went on the tuk-tuk tour around the best ones sampling fine wine (and beer) for half a day. It was really enjoyable and the La Rochelle winery was a highlight! We paid for transfers between all destinations throughout the 2 weeks, the company Megan booked us with was a very professional and extremely friendly company called 'Jarat' every driver was full of local knowledge and we enjoyed great conversation each time. As a whole I would recommend Discover Africa to anyone, we've had the best honeymoon of our lives and fell in love with South Africa. Thank you!
Sean, United Kingdom
31 Oct 2022

Memorable trip!

This trip was supposed to happen in 2020, then 2021. We were finally able to take it in 2022. It was memorable in every way! Adelle at Discover Africa was so helpful, knowledgeable, and responsive -- her communication and accommodation made it easier for us to manage our trip preparation. The trip itself was amazing - accommodations were lovely, everyone we encountered ws so kind and welcoming, the guides and drivers were excellent, activities were fun and interesting, and the game rides were fantastic! The highlight of our time in Tanzania was a hot air balloon ride over the Serengeti -- a once-in-a-lifetime experience! The highlight of our time in Kenya was staying at Giraffe Manor -- unforgettable! One of our best trips ever! thank you, Adelle.
Robbyne, United States
26 Oct 2022

Adelle is super friendly, understanding, and takes the accommodation bar to the next level!

We started working with Adelle in 2021 to start planning our October 2022 honeymoon. Right from the first point of communication, she asked us what our dream honeymoon entailed and what our budget was. Our dream honeymoon included 2 days of rest + a Mount Kili hike, 6 days of safaris (1 @ Lake Manyara, 1 @ Ngorongoro Crater, and 4 @ the Northern Seregenti) then 4 days of beach time in Zanzibar. From those ideas, she provided a detailed itinerary. From lodges to stay at, to drivers / transfers, plane rides, excursion ideas, visas, possible vaccines ... everything. She was detailed and there were zero hiccups! Throughout our entire planning time, she was always there to offer reasoning, as well as any other ideas to include on our trip. She was always an email or even a call away! We really trusted her with our trip and I cannot thank her enough for making our dream honeymoon come true. We definitely will be trusting her with another trip soon! We cannot recommend Adelle (+ Discover Africa) enough. From the places she booked, to how easy and effortless it was for us to be in Tanzania. Just WOW. Book it - We promise you, you won't regret it!
Tate, United States
22 Oct 2022

World Class Experience

Discover Africa delivered the most amazing honeymoon experience to South Africa. The Dulini safari lodge in Sabi Sands was so special, private, and the game drives are packed with adventure. Then the boutique Camps Bay hotel in Cape Town was beautiful. Transfers and tours were first class. A seamless experience. We cannot recommend booking enough - it is worth it!
Stacey, United States
20 Oct 2022

Attentive, detailed, and extremely helpful!

We worked with Alice in planning our travel experience, including lodging and safari. She was absolutely stellar... we originally planned to take a one year wedding anniversary trip in April 2020, and then the pandemic hit. Over the next few years Alice worked with us diligently to keep our reservations intact until we were finally able to travel this month! The lodge we stayed was fantastic, we were beyond thrilled with Lion Sands and the service provided. Every detail was truly customized for us. Our guide, tracker, and butler were the best in the biz. They went the extra mile to help me when I thought I had left my lens cap in the safari vehicle, sensing someone to find it and drive it out to us on our way back to the airport! We felt safe, saw basically every animal you could hope to see in the wild and even ones we didn't, like the African wild cat! Seriously I can't say enough great things about Alice and Lion Sands river lodge. You won't be disappointed!
KB, United States
13 Oct 2022

Discover Africa absolutely exceeded our expectations and made a long and complex trip totally perfect

Our trips organized by Discover Africa were amazing. Matthys put together three incredible packages and worked with us throughout the entire journey to make everything perfect. We went to Botswana, Namibia and Tanzania with Discover Africa, and had a stay in Cape Town between two of the safari trips. Matthys was right there when we wanted to make small changes to a flight and a hotel. We absolutely could not have been happier, they exceeded our expectations completely.
Teresa Sicade, United States
10 Oct 2022

The travel arrangements and accommodation all worked as planned!

From the outset - when we discussed our budget, our accommodation preferences and what we expected to see - we were impressed with Vihann and his attention to detail. Our trip started at Kilimanjaro airport and included a game drive at Lake Manyara on the way to Ngorongoro. A day in the Crater followed by a flight to Kogatende and four days in the Northern Serengeti. The travel arrangements and accommodation all worked as planned, our guides were extremely knowledgeable - on both animals and birds - and helpful and considerate. We saw a huge variety of wildlife in our week in Tanzania - including wildebeest crossing the Mara River and the Big Five over two days. They delivered everything we hoped for and more.
Richard M, United Kingdom
5 Oct 2022

Fabulous Experience!

This trip was booked 3 times before it finally happened thanks to the pandemic and border closures etc. Alice from Discover Africa was with us for the entire 3 years - from planning, cancelling, and rebooking. She stayed in touch and communicated with us regularly during the entire 3 years. Her insights and suggestions helped make this trip one that will be very difficult to top. In terms of the actual holiday ... Words fail me! Someone was watching out for us because we had multiple sightings of the Big 5, Magnificent 7 and Super 8 plus all of the other animals - small (mouse) to big (elephant). Pretty special when you consider that includes two sightings of Wild Dogs when there are only circa 400 in total in Kruger! I appreciate that's completely outside of anyone's control but worth mentioning. Going in September meant that the bush wasn't at full height, so we were able to see the animals. The lodges were great - Thornybush and Jock's Safari Lodge They were luxurious without being pretentious. We were well taken care of and well fed! Gallo Manor Lodge in Johannesburg was very comfortable, and we were well taken care of again - the Director, Angel, chauffeured us to and from the golf course which was unexpected and very kind. This holiday combined golf with safaris. The golf was good too. Hans Merensky course is well laid out and an interesting course to play. It does need some investment (as well as the hotel). Leopard Creek was an experience! Old world golf club and an interesting course (unfortunately we didn't see any wildlife like we did at Han Merensky). We really enjoyed the Rocklands Course at the Johannesburg Country Club and had a lovely meal afterwards looking over the course. Thanks to Alice at Discover Africa for putting this holiday together for us.
Michelle, United Kingdom
4 Oct 2022

Fantastic Tour all arranged by Discover Africa!

From start to finish every detail was taken care of. It exceeded all our expectations. The Villa, Hotels, and Safari were all 5*+. The Vineyard trips were amazing with such informative guides. The transfers were effortless. The Holiday of a lifetime which will be remembered forever at a price we could afford. Such a big thank you to Discover Africa!
Alison Hilk, United Kingdom
3 Oct 2022

Absolutely amazing itinerary put together by Matthys and the team. Everything was seamless!

This was a holiday of 3 attempts. Matthys clearly extremely knowledgable, and from experience, about the areas/lodges we visited. The transfers, flights and accommodations were all top notch and nothing went by the wayside. The trip moved seamlessly from SA, through Kruger, Zimbabwe, 3 Botswana lodges and back to Jo’burg. Value for money? Definitely really good quality accommodations and the safari guides were brilliant. We were never crowded into any vehicle we always had plenty of space. The food was amazing and the staff at all establishments were incredibly friendly and accommodating. Nothing was too much trouble and they went far and above than they needed too. We loved it so much we are planning to come back in 2024 and do the garden route and some different safari experiences. Missed the Rhino but saw all the other top 4 plus 5 puppy wild dogs/5 adults and 3 leopards. Loads of lions and huge amounts of elephant, bison, water buffalo and numerous other animals. As Annie once said “I’ll be back!”
Ian & Elaine Fursland, United Kingdom
28 Sep 2022

Seamless trip from start to finish

Susan couldn’t have been more helpful when planning my trip, coming up with different ideas and itineraries to fit my budget and expectations. Communication was excellent, and when I came down with Covid just 2 days before departure, she swiftly moved to find dates for later in the year. From getting picked up at Victoria Falls airport, to all the tours, transfers, and accommodation in both Zimbabwe and Botswana, things couldn’t have gone more smoothly. Traveling to Botswana is expensive, but worth every penny.  
Lesley G, Spain
28 Sep 2022

Ready to plan your tailor-made safari?

Free safari planning advice from destination experts

HELP ME PLAN MY TRIP
Copyright © Discover Africa Safaris | Reviews | Last Updated: 4 Oct 2022