ZAR
USD
EUR
GBP
CAD
AUD
CHF
ZAR
USD
EUR
GBP
CAD
AUD
CHF

What are you looking for?

ZAR
USD
EUR
GBP
CAD
AUD
CHF
ZAR
USD
EUR
GBP
CAD
AUD
CHF
Hello traveller!

It's in Cape Town now.

We're sorry. Our safari planners aren't available now. Our office hours are 08:00 - 19:00 (GMT+2).

Call us to speak to an experienced safari planner.


Alternatively, we recommend...

travel-form-icon

Complete our travel enquiry form to connect with a safari planner

ENQUIRE TODAY
Email us
(optional)

Read reviews by travellers who booked their trips and went on safari with Discover Africa.

All reviews are sourced from independent review platforms (Safari Bookings and Google Reviews). Click on reviews to find out why we’re consistently rated 5-stars.

Use the filter below to read reviews by travellers from your home country.


The tour operator provided a very professional, punctual and friendly service.

This was an excellent tour visiting South Africa, Zimbabwe and Botswana, The staff everywhere were fantastic, the hotels were very good, all excursions hit the mark with a little bit of everything, from the magnificent Victoria Falls, land and river safaris in Botswana and the vibrant city of Cape Town. My tour operator Adelle Bell made sure everything ran smoothly from airport pick up to day trips. The only reason I did not give this tour 5 stars was the first hotel. This hotel is right in the city center and extremely noisy, however the food, staff and rooms made it bearable.
Brian Jane, Canada
18 Apr 2024

"Discover Africa", a memorable experience.

I found the agency "Discover Africa" through an Internet search and contacted it without really knowing where I was landing. We were late and had special requests. Susan, our agent, understood our requirements very well and worked to meet them. All her proposals were very well targeted. Very pleasant to have someone listening. Easy interaction, even at a distance, great availability. And this didn't stop once the reservations were made. I'm thinking in particular of the follow-up for health and consular requirements. On site, everything worked very well. Smooth, on-time transfers, attentive, very professional staff. We stayed at two lodges, in Kenya and Tanzania, for a total of 6 days. Two different experiences, two top experiences. Beautiful facilities, friendly, smiling staff, competent and attentive driver/guide. Two game drives per day, a lot of animals, small ones, big ones, thousands of pictures, lots of magical moments. My siblings and I went on this safari to honour our recently deceased older brother. The response from the people was simply incredible in its warmth and humanity. Yes, a safari isn't cheap, but it's an experience, a gift to yourself. A memorable experience.
Yves, Canada
16 Apr 2024

Listen and advise what makes your customer happy, this is the mindset of Discover Africa.

We had the pleasure to have Adelle on our side who helped us organizing what turned out to be an unforgetable trip. She really listened with passion and patience what we were looking at, and then she advised and mastered a ten days trip which was just perfect in all aspects: timing, transportation, sequence of spots, mindful selection of lodges etc. A truly great customer experience. Thank you so much Adelle, we will for sure come back to you.
Roland, France
15 Apr 2024

Professionalism and helpfulness at the service of the customer

We love Africa and safaris, and this year we decided to go on one in Kruger Park, not really knowing where to go. We turned to Discover Africa who recommended several game reserve, including Mala Mala, which we chose. We have never made a better choice. It was a beautiful experience that thrilled the whole family. Susan Swanepoel organized the trip perfectly, from the reception at the airport to the departure, including the intermediate stop at Blyde Canyon and there Panorama Route. Helpful, quick, efficient Susan also accompanied us step by step during our stay and always answered any questions promptly. Payments for the trip were made without any problems. We recommend Discover Africa as a travel agency and Mala Mala as a destination for one of the most beautiful safaris you could wish for.
Alessandra, Switzerland
6 Apr 2024

Exceptional Trip Planning

Wow, where to even begin. We had an exceptional experience with Susan S from Discover Africa and we truly cannot thank her enough for helping us plan the trip of a lifetime. From beginning to end, Susan was very attentive, informative and professional. She was also always very quick to respond, which was so helpful especially when we didn’t have reception for long. Susan also ensured to check in often with us throughout our trip to make sure everything was going well. She was very flexible with any last minute changes or requests. Her expertise about travelling Africa was invaluable for our trip. We loved every single camp, lodge, guide, etc that we had. Our trip was very ambitious with lots of moving around, yet she was able to help create the perfect itinerary and squeeze it all in. What stood out most to us most about Susan though was her kindness and genuine passion for Africa and helping create an unforgettable trip. Overall, we had the best experience with Discover Africa and we can’t wait to one day plan another trip to this amazing continent with Susan’s help. [global_dynamic_group section_type="gallery collage" id="gallery 1"]
Natalia, Canada
3 Apr 2024

Discover Africa and it's people delivered a Top Notch Experience

Starting with booking the trip, our Travel Planner, Susan Swanepoel was exceptional...we had no idea what we wanted other than going on Safari, so she made suggestions, but also listened to our questions and concerns. We ended up with exactly what we wanted and (with Susan's guidance) were able to prepare ourselves appropriately in the months leading up to the trip. And during the trip, she continued to communicate with us, making sure everything was going as we hoped. The trip itself was a wonderful experience, not only due to the great planning, but because of our amazing guide...Frank Mndolwa was with us for nearly 10 days as a skilled driver, spotter, and educator. He was able to show ALL the hoped-for animals, as well as ones we didn't even know about! When we asked for information about birds and plants as well as the big mammals, he often had the answers, or (if not) would pull out his books and do his best to find them for us. He even helped us learn a little Swahili - we now consider him a friend and hope to see him again someday, at which time, we hope to know a little more Swahili 🙂 I could also go on and on about the people in the bush camps...to a one, they were friendly and helpful...we always felt like we were being well looked after. They were all so special. We were already talking about "next time we go" on the plane home...whenever that "next time" comes up, we will definitely be turning to Discover Africa again. Thank you Susan and Frank (and everyone else) for giving us these wonderful memories!
Karin Haag, United States
31 Mar 2024

Megan was the best!

First class service from start to finish. My husband’s 40th birthday trip was more than we could have imagined.
Calynn, Bahamas
24 Mar 2024

Knowledgeable, Supportive, and Excellent Communication

We selected Discover Africa with help from SafariBookings.com. We were not disappointed. Discover Africa responded promptly, helped us figure out an itinerary, scheduled our stays and flights all within about 1 week. Before and during our trip Adelle Bell (agent) communicated with us on an ongoing basis. She was available to answer questions, provide suggestions, and help with ideas. I was celebrating my 60th birthday and Adelle made sure we had excellent lodges in the game reserves and at the request of my husband, organized a cake for my birthday dinner. Adelle really cared about our experience and well-being. When, on a weekend, Adelle was not immediately available, another agent was on call who quickly got in touch to let her know to call us (which she did). Discover Africa works with high end lodges and transportation. They are reliable and we believe, a good value for money. Thank you Adelle and Discover Africa. You made our trip unforgettable. All the best to you moving forward.
Susan Domotor, Hungary
23 Mar 2024

Always helpful and available for any questions or concerns.

It was a pleasure to work with Susan. She planned everything for us from start to finish. We were able to have all information prepared before we left, including flights, luggage requirements, hotel information, meal information and activities we would do. We were met by professional and very nice people to escort us from the airports to the camps in Sabi Sands and to the hotels in Stelenbosch and Cape Town. She arranged a driver for us to see the sights we wanted to see and arranged help with any extras that we needed along the way. When our flights home were changed by our airlines, she managed to rearrange our days at safari without us having to miss a day. It made everything go so smoothly. I would highly recommend working with her and would most definitely use Discover Africa again. It was a very long trip (3 weeks) and at no point did I, my daughter or any of my friends feel worried about anything. It made for a very special experience.
Carla, United States
17 Mar 2024

Expertise in planning memorable and unique experiences with excellent customer service

We had a great experience planning our holiday with Discover Africa, and especially with Diane. She set up an initial Zoom call to help understand our wishes for planning a memorable first time on safari. She was flexible and found ways to adjust the itinerary when I asked about changes (e.g., swapping out a portion of the holiday, adding a private tour, etc.). When we found ourselves ill during the trip, Diane was a lifesaver. We had to change a portion of our itinerary, and she did it all promptly, which was such a relief, allowing us to relax and get better before our safari portion of the trip started. It would have been such a pain if we had to manage ourselves. She even coordinated with the hotel to send a doctor to our room. On a whole, all the hotel bookings were excellent - great locations, rooms, and breakfast options. Our transfers were always on time and made getting around so convenient. The safari was certainly the highlight, and we couldn't have asked for a better experience. We saw so many animals on game drives, and even from our room. The staff and service, including the food, was fantastic. I know we'll want to have another safari experience in the future and will come back to booking with Discover Africa.
Ashleigh B, United States
17 Mar 2024

We can do nothing but highly recommend Susan from Discover Africa. What an amazing trip!? Thank you!

We have always wanted to visit South Africa after numerous friends recommended various parts and experiences. On first looking, we were clueless about where to start and what to include in our time frame of 10 days. Discover Africa came to the rescue when I came across their website and various suggested itineraries, so I made contact and Susan got back to me promptly. Within a few emails and video calls, our entire trip, transfers, tours and hotel stays were booked and planned for us. What a trip this was!! We started in Cape Town, staying at a gorgeous hotel at the V&A waterfront, The Queen Victoria. This boutique, stylish hotel with pool and spa, stands on a small hill overlooking the main hub of shops, bars and restaurants. By no means was it noisy but a safe distance from which we could walk down to the area when needed. Our time at the hotel was fantastic. The staff were so friendly and attentive; we highly recommend breakfast on the terrace overlooking the Time Out market and Table Mountain. Whilst here we had several private booked tours of the Cape (with the amazing Reginald from African Eagle tours) and a half day tour of Cape Town itself. The latter included Table Mountain cable car tickets - albeit a misty day, our schedule was tight to come back, so we went through with it. The views below the clouds that day were breathtaking. We moved onto the Franschhoek Country House & Villas, after a 50 minute private transfer from Cape Town. WOW! What a picturesque setting with a fantastic team running this gorgeous hotel. We enjoyed local wine and bubbles around the pool with lunch, then I had a great massage at the spa. The town itself is close by, we walked on one morning but most of the time availed of the hotels shuttle which runs on demand whenever needed. Such beautiful architecture and lots of options for food, drinks and coffee. We dined in town one night then at the hotels restaurant on another. Both lovely meals, with friendly staff. We have nothing negative to say! The wine tram was a great way to visit local vineyards for tasting. We visited 3 and had such a great time learning and sampling the local produce. We need to now order some to have it shipped home!!! You must visit the wine district on any trip to South Africa. [global_dynamic_group section_type="gallery collage" id="gallery 1"] We took a 2 hour internal flight up to Kruger for a 3 day safari. Susan arranged for us to stay in the presidential suite at the Karongwe River Lodge on the Karongwe Private Reserve. We hadn't a clue what to expect on safari, but the team made us feel so welcome, took every care to meet any request and their attention to detail was second to none. From them collecting us from the airport, right through to daily breakfast, changing the location and set up for dinner around the hotel each night, to the twice daily 3 hour game drives - we were blown away. Our room was palatial, with our own pool and terrace overlooking a watering hole next door. We observed frequent animals visiting during our mid afternoon naps before the evening safari drive. Our safaris were unreal. The guide Jack and tracker Raimundo were professional, knowledgeable and comical. We had one of the best experiences on safari than we have ever had on any holiday. We were genuinely sad to leave. After a short flight to Johannesburg to stay overnight before our flight back to the UK, Susan arranged transfers and a stay at the stylish Da Vinci Hotel in Sandton. We had a massive corner suite, and an amazing breakfast. The hotel is adjacent to the mall leading to Nelson Mandela Square. It was safe to walk around and there were plentiful options for dinner. All in all our trip was fabulous. I could not fault it and cannot thank Susan and Discover Africa enough. I highly recommend you book with them for a well organised, personalised and once-in-a-lifetime experience for your trip. We cannot wait to tell our friends and family all about it. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.  
Bryan & Neil, United Kingdom
13 Mar 2024

Knowledgeable, organized and excellent. Susan's advice was invaluable.

Susan gave us several options to choose from, and we chose Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge. From start to finish, the exploring, booking, and holiday were excellent. We were given a really good idea of the options available to us and could not have chosen better. I felt really far more comfortable booking a safari through Discover Africa with Susan than I would have done booking from home. I felt the knowledge and descriptions gave us the information we needed to make any informed choice. I could not fault Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge. Great staff, fantastic, very high-quality rooms, great food, and an amazing safari experience getting up close and personal to many, many animals. A truly wonderful experience for my wife and I. [global_dynamic_group section_type="gallery collage" id="gallery 1"]
Nick, United Kingdom
13 Mar 2024

Our reviews are sourced from Safari Bookings and Google Reviews.

Ready to plan your tailor-made safari?

Lana Goodwin, Safari Travel Planner

Free safari planning advice from destination experts

HELP ME PLAN
Copyright © Discover Africa Safaris | Reviews | Last Updated: 7 May 2024